Picture credit: Mads Perch | Zur deutschen Version des Beitrags geht es hier!

We’re only two month into 2012, but there is already little doubt left that Nina Kraviz‘s eponymous album will be considered as one of the most exciting debuts of this year. One reason for this is the inimitably sparse, hypnotic but also very raw brand of deep house the Russian producer and singer has developed. Which leaves us to the question: Where do you get so much funk from when you have been raised in the middle of Sibiria? As Nina relates in the current Groove cover story, it could be mainly due to her father’s extensive record collection, among which she grew up and which contained numerous disco, jazz and progressive rock albums. For the latest episode of our podcast, Nina compiled some of those influential records of her youth and blended them into a unique and unconventional mix.


What is the concept behind the mix?

I just wanted to share my love of the beautiful heritage of the 1960s and 1970s music era. I find this era extremely powerful in terms of how emotions are delivered musically. This mix is about love, passion and all that boogie. There are some quiet moments though, but only in order to get things going even more crazy afterwards.

You are touring Germany to support the release of your album and you will be playing a live set for the first time on this tour. What will your live setup be like?

You are right: These will be my very first steps towards a live performance. And that is why I decided to keep my live setup pretty simple. There will be computer and controllers, effect boxes, keyboard and me on the microphone!

Is there one gig to which you are especially looking forward to?

Yes, I actually feel pretty excited about all of them. Shall I even start telling you how much I like Robert Johnson? I don’t think you need more sentimental stuff here. Panorama Bar – indeed, Ego Club where I performed for my first time in Hamburg with its amazing crew and of course Bob Beaman, where I never played before, but where – following the advice of Tobi Neumann – I was supposed to play long time ago because of the great soundsystem of the club. Yes! I am very, very exited about my lovely German tour!


Nina’s debut album Nina Kraviz will be released on February 27th via Rekids. Groove presents the German leg of her upcoming tour from March 1st to March 4th. Find out more about the tour here.



[audio:Groove _Podcast_05-Nina_Kraviz.mp3]
Download (MP3, 320 kBit/s, 40:33 Min., 92,9 MB)
Subscribe to our podcast feed or via iTunes.

  1. Co Real ArtistWhat About You (In The World Today)
  2. Sweet Potato PieHot Disco Night (Are You Ready) Extended Mix
  3. Cultural VibeMa Foom Bey
  4. Cecil LeuterPop Electronique No.2
  5. Moody BluesIn The Beginning
  6. Byrdie GreenReturn Of The Prodigal Son
  7. Piero PiccioniOnce And Again
  8. Blood, Sweat & TearsI Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
  9. The Swingle Singers & The Modern Jazz QuartetAir for G String (J. S. Bach)
  10. Piero PiccioniRevelation
  11. Claudja BarryLove For The Sake Of Love (Social Disco Club Edit)
Vorheriger ArtikelGROOVE PRÄSENTIERT Nina Kraviz Album Tour
Nächster ArtikelNINA KRAVIZ Groove Podcast 05