TIM SWEENEY Groove Podcast 09

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Picture: Anna Rose | zur deutschsprachigen Version des Beitrag

In the introduction to his interview with Tim Sweeney in the current issue of Groove, the author Felix Denk described the dj as the “ambassador of the new sound of New York”. Through his already legendary weekly radio show Beats In Space on WNYU, Sweeney has grown into one of the most important voices of the house scene in the Big Apple. After a spell working at another influential New York institution, DFA Records, he recently started his own imprint Beats In Space Records.


Tim, how did you choose the tracks for your mix? Did you have a certain concept in mind?

I wanted to do a mix with a New York state of mind since the magazine issue was about Brooklyn House. All the music on the mix has some connection to New York either from the artists, the record labels, or the remixers. It starts off with The Jerky Boys, quintessential New Yorkers, and it ends with a message on the Beats In Space Hotline from Victor From Washington Heights, the quintessential stalker.

Where and how was the mix recorded?

It was recorded in one live take with vinyl at my apartment in Brooklyn. Two Technics 1200 turntables, an E&S DJR 400 rotary mixer, and Klipsch Cornwall speakers were used.

What’s next for you and Beats In Space Records?

Next up for Beats In Space Records is the Lauer “Macsat Ring Down” EP (which is the last track on this mix). That should be out by the end of July. I’ve also got a release coming very soon from DJ Steve, the butcher DJ from Tropea, Italy. That’s coming out on the edit label B.I.S. Records, Inc. That should be out by the end of July as well. And it’s not until the fall, but I’m also be doing a big party at Panorama Bar in Berlin on October 27th to celebrate the 13th anniversary of Beats In Space.



Download (MP3, 320 kBit/s, 60:47 min., 139,2 MB)
Subscribe to our podcast feed or via iTunes

1.  Hidden Fees – Sale Away (Welcome Strangers Early Voyage Dub) – Solei’d
2.  Marcos Cabral – 24hr Flight – L.I.E.S.
3.  Mood II Swing – Move Me – PND
4.  Shawn O’Sullivan – At The Reservoir – W.T. Records
5.  Juju & Jordash – Jewsex – Golf Channel
6.  The Crystal Ark – The City Never Sleeps – DFA
7.  Still Going – Work That Shit Party – Still Going Records
8.  Bad News – More Bad News – L.I.E.S.
9.  – –
10. Lauer – Macsat Ring Down – BIS Records

In diesem Text



Boutique-Festivals: Einmal einzigartige Erfahrung, bitte!

Groove+ Alpakastreicheln, Kakaozeremonien oder Luxuspavillons: Boutique-Festivals bieten die beste Experience – für alle, die es sich leisten können.

konkrit #13: Musikjournalismus – endlich wieder totgesagt!

Wir müssen darüber reden, wie wir über Musik und Kultur reden. Oder besser noch darüber, wer sich das überhaupt noch leisten kann.

Im Studio mit Luke Slater: Die Wahrheit, die es gar nicht gibt 

Luke Slater hat zuletzt seinen Alias L.B. Dub Corp für ein neues Album revitalisiert – und uns durch sein Studio geführt.